top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Dance Mistress

A trip to the Plaza Arts Theater

Yesterday, I worked as a featured extra on a tv show and was expecting a normal work day. The day started out as usual, lugging my garment bag here and there and trying on costumes in the oppressive heat. To my surprise, I was taken to this old theater, now the Plaza Arts Center. The building was originally a school; It was eventually abandoned and revived by the community decades later. As I walked into the auditorium, I could feel the age of the place and that it was loved by the resident of Eatonton.


As the film crew was setting up, I hung out with the theater's lighting crew and was happy to hear about the programs and art classes that are held in the building. Not only did I have a grand time on stage that day but I have been invited back to teach a historic dance class to the theater students. A job from a job. It can't get any better than that.





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's Madison time!

Last Saturday was Madison Time at the Northeast GA History Center! I presented the popular 1960s dance and taught the Alleycat dance. The Madison was created in the late 1950s but became wildly popul

bottom of page