top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Dance Mistress

1880s dress trim

Updated: Jul 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to read about my nerdy obsession with historic dance and costume. As with a lot of costumers, the sewing machine gets flying a few weeks before the event. The days of weekend sewing crunches are long gone, replaced by short spurts in between household and mommy duties.

There's always a struggle between what I am able to afford and what I actually would like to do.  My draping skills have come a long way due to necessity. Most of the time I cannot afford historic patterns and have to make do with transferring the general shape from historic costuming books.  Every once in awhile I can borrow a period correct pattern from a friend.

Last year, I finally started the trim on my 1880s dinner bodice.  The pleating took hours of adjustment for consistency and flow around the neckline.  I also added lace and bows to the neckline and sleeves.  It's incredibly beautiful and satisfying to see the finished product.  The pattern I used for this bodice was TV422. I created the skirt and over skirt by getting the general pattern shape out of a costuming book and draping it over period correct undergarments. The only thing left, is the pleating on the skirt above the ruffle and I will be done!


Most of these pictures were from a photo and promotional video shoot at the Wren's Nest.  It is always a fun to play dress up Victorian model! Stay tuned for the final video.








36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's Madison time!

Last Saturday was Madison Time at the Northeast GA History Center! I presented the popular 1960s dance and taught the Alleycat dance. The Madison was created in the late 1950s but became wildly popul

bottom of page